1. Home
  2. Balancer
  3. How to drain a server

How to drain a server

When you need to perform important or emergency maintenance on one of your servers but don’t want to disrupt existing connections on that server, you might need to look at draining the server.

 

Step 1: Navigate to the Group or Backend in where the server you want to drain is being used.

 

 

Step 2: Next, click on “Servers” to reveal the list of servers in the group or backend

 

Step 3: Next, click on the pause button corresponding to the server you want to drain connections from.

 

After you’ve clicked the pause button, we observe a message. This message indicated that the pause was successful and that we need to reload the Load Balancer to apply the new config.

 

Step 4: Let’s reload the Balancer to apply the new config. Notice we have an orange notification on the top right corner with a “1” in it. This is a shortcut to the reload.

We’ll now click on the notification icon

Now see get to use the shortcut to reload the Balancer

 

After the Reload has been performed, we’ll be notified on the UI with the following

Step 5: Verify that we have no more connections before taking the server completely offline.

Updated on November 22, 2018


Was this article helpful?

Related Articles